caret icon Back to all discussions

Biologics therapy - Simponi (Golimumab)

Hi guys, I'm new here 😀 I've created this account for my boyfriend. He's been living with PsA for 21 years (since he was 15). But i'm still new to all these. I want to learn more about PsA so that I can help and support him better.

In the past 10 years, he barely took any medication for his PsA because of the potential side effects. Recently he's considering to give biologics therapy a shot. His doctor has prescribed Simponi to him. I've learned all kinds of scary side effects from google including risk of infection and cancer. I would like to hear some advice from someone who's been receiving biologics. I'm wondering if there's any way to lower the risk of infection/cancer, or if biologics is effective at all.

Also, as the shots are very expensive, he is trying to apply through his work drug plan and some government program. We are still waiting to see if he's qualified. Is there any other suggestions?

Thank you 😀)

1. Hi LittlePlum, welcome to the community 😀 It's so wonderful that you are looking into this to support your boyfriend - he is very lucky to have such a caring partner!

I don't have experience with Simponi, but something to bear in mind with the side effects is that not everyone who takes the drug will experience them. Hopefully we have some community members here who can share their experiences with you.

With regards to the financial side of accessing the medications, this information may be useful: https://psoriatic-arthritis.com/living/paying-for-cost-of-psa-care/

Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions. It's great to have you here!

- Catherine, Community Moderator

1. Thank you so much Catherine. Your words are so sweet 😀

1. Hi Plum,

I've been exactly where your boyfriend is right now. Suffering from PsA but reluctant to take a biologic, or any drugs really, because of the potential side effects. Some of which, yes, can be really scary.